top of page
  • Writer's pictureBorgduck

LAND OF THE GIANTS- THE TRAP

Updated: Apr 9, 2022

Land Of The Giants The Trap - (1968)

Does my skin need to crawl?

Our protagonists, yet again, are being hunted by giants looking for the reward for their capture. Whilst escaping they're confronted by a giant stick insect. Not surprisingly, Dan has a lifelong fear of them. No argument, here, a giant stick insect?! Unfortunately for Valerie & Betty. two giant scientists, with fancy recording technology, get lucky & it's up to the rest of the team, yes, including Fitzhugh to rescue them from certain, scientific doom. Can the rest of the crew convince Fitzhugh to lend a hand in rescuing our heroines in distress, or will he remain a "Dr Smith" like coward? Also, a giant clock is found that may produce the radium that they need to return to Earth. Was this part of the trap of the giant scientists?

I'll think of something to type when I can stop staring!

Another offering on the slab of Irwin Allen. A fab little episode. Never mind that scary stick insect in the beginning, but I adore that scene with Valerie & Betty ! The idiot giant interrogates them in a stupid, robotic, Dalek-like voice & Valorie gives her sarcastic mode in full throttle all, (you go gal! ) though she admitted to Anne that she was just afraid as her, it's amazing what adrenaline can do. I quite enjoyed that scene! And, am I the only one creeped out by the fact that that they claim to have caught other small Earthlings? Of course, we see in future episodes

No giant ape-men here, just huge stick insects!


Seeing as this is my first Land Of Giants blog, I feel compelled to mention Don Marshall who plays Dan also appeared in one of my favourite & one of the scariest Star Trek:TOS episode, Galileo 7? I like how he mocks the giant scientists, as they rescue Val & Betty. Graffiti a fake goatee on one of their pictures. Bwahaa-ha-ha-haa! Very funny *looks in mirror*, ..hey, wait a minute, I'm not a scientist!

Valerie - I know there's a song hidden, there.

Okay, be merciful. This is my first blag about Land Of The Giants & hopefully won't be my last. But, I've got a sneaking suspicion that Irwin Allen retouched Lost In Space here, if it ain't broke why fix it, right? The theme is so familiar. A spaceship lost, a boy who is befriended by an intelligent, yet, cowardly scientist type with occasional delusions of grandeur. We get a cute Dog in Chipper instead of the robot, & of course, the mostly wise crew members.

Fab recycle, Irwin!.

Obviously, Lost In Space has been rehashed. But, still, give this show a chance. We have many a more far-out episode than this, so please enjoy!


Stay safe, & look after yourselves!

.

Borgduck alias Stewart,

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2023 by Name of Site. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
bottom of page